MLK Jr.’s Assassination

Some say towards the end of his life that Martin Luther King Jr. was leaning towards Communism.  Whatever he was leaning towards, it ended on a hotel balcony on April 4, 1968.  When I remember the black woman in Hackensack daring to drink out of the “White” water fountain or the young black man who offered me and my mother a seat in the black section of the segregated diner because the white section was full (it almost caused a riot) or poor Duane who only wanted to keep up with the white friends (including my younger brother) who abandoned him, I can’t help thinking that whatever his political leanings, we all needed to learn something – and MLK Jr. was the guy to teach it.

No matter what you might think about Social Justice (not much, frankly), he did bring justice to the poor black man who just needed to go to the bathroom, the old black woman who just wanted a drink of water, and the young black boy who just wanted to be friends.

Apparently, he had a soft spot for animals, too.  In the midst of the battles with my neighbor, The Rat Queen, a photographer colleague from my former job posted this quote on her Facebook page, over an excellent photo of a cardinal she had taken.  I placed the quote in frame and put on my garden table and also hung it on my dining room wall as a reminder of courage:

“Never, never be afraid to do what is right, especially if the well-being of a person or animal is at stake.  Society’s punishments are small compared to the wounds we inflict on our soul when we look the other way.”

Thank you, Dr. King, and God bless you!

 

 

 

 

Published in: on April 4, 2013 at 11:22 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://belleofliberty.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/mlk-jr-s-assassination/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I might check things
    out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking over
    your web page yet again.

  2. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I
    could find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty
    finding one? Thanks a lot!


Leave a Reply

