Accepting the “Awful Tooth”

For most of my life – since I was about 9 years old – I’ve been plagued by a protruding eyetooth.  My childhood dentist, of whom I was mortally afraid thanks to the wailings of my ridiculous older brother (who always went in for treatment first), was reluctant to remove it.

Needless to say, we were not on the best of terms (I once bit him in my desperate struggle to escape from his chair).  Still, when it came to this, I was willing to undergo any torture to rid myself of this fang tooth.  But he said I had to wait until I was old enough for braces, and even then he wasn’t sure he could remove it because he said it was rooted very high up and too near the nasal cavity.

Not only was I cursed with a small jaw that didn’t provide enough room for all 32 teeth, I was also hobbled by an overlarge nose.  A rhinoplasty surgeon said he could reduce the size of my nose for the same reason the eyetooth couldn’t be removed; the two interfered with one another.

Decades and seven dentists (including my present doctor who also has knowledge of dentistry), I am at peace with my situation.  In fact, the eyetooth cannot be removed for a number of reasons:  1) its close proximity to the nasal cavity; 2) it overlaps another tooth, which would also have to be removed, along with yet other teeth; 3) any surgery so close to the nasal cavity could result in a serious infection; 4) the eyetooth is a foundation tooth, meaning its removal could cause my face to cave it, as it supports the cheekbones.

I’d really accepted my appearance all along.  But I was glad to hear the confirmation, that while I hadn’t done anything about it all these years, it turns out there was nothing I could have done that wouldn’t have involved numerous surgeries and serious complications.

Having such an appearance can have a deleterious effect on relationships of all sorts, as well as diminishing one’s career prospects.  I was never going to be a Broadway star.  Prejudice in regard to appearance is one of the deepest-rooted biases in society.  Childhood was particularly rough.  Even in adulthood, children would sneer at me from passing cars (I learned slow down and let the cars or schoolbuses pass me by).

But that’s life.  Most times, you can change things.  People have teeth and noses fixed all the time.  That was not – and is not – going to be my lot, however, and I had to accept it.  You find ways of coping and develop new ways of looking at things.  Instead of looking to the mirror for reassurance, you learn to appreciate the beauty in the world around you.

That’s why it’s hard to understand the attitude of the psychiatric profession regarding transsexualism and other sexual deviancy.  Psychiatry encourages patients to spend thousands of dollars having themselves mutilated to feel better about, basically, being homosexual, yet have legally outlawed the practice of straightening out gender identity.

Not all of us are perfect men and women.   Some men have absolutely no interest in physical contact sports.  Some women are absolutely bored by the sport of shoe-shopping and collecting endless pocketbooks.  Count me among them.  At least these days.  In my younger days, I was really quite the fashionista.  Now, I just don’t want to be bothered.

I pay the requisite attention to matters of make-up and hair care (my hair is straight as an arrow; my younger brother’s head is a mass of curls which he must constantly lop off – Mother Nature is very cruel).  As a girl, I tried to follow my friends’ cues in styling and curling dolls’ hair but I just never got the hang of it.

But that’s all.  I’d sooner swim the Hudson River than go shopping for shoes or pocketbooks (and I can’t swim a stroke).  On the other hand, I have absolutely no interest in sports.  Once in Kindergarten, the class tomboy, who lived across the street from me, accused me of being a tomboy.  My father worried about the same thing.

My interests, or rather, activities, resulted more from the fact of being closeted in a house of full of brothers and their friends, than any natural tendency towards boyish activities.  I was just as fond of my dolls as I was my brothers’ construction trucks.  The latter my father eventually forbid me to play with; he was concerned I was becoming a tomboy.  I wasn’t allowed to climb trees anymore, either, or rollerskate down the street.  Too many scraped knees, my parents said.  But I don’t think that was it.

I was born a female and that was that.  I didn’t think too much of my female kindergarten classmates.  Certainly there was a connection between the sharp little teeth that they displayed and the nasty, hurtful things they said to me and about other little girls.  The boys, of course, were boys and terrified of the cooties.

The Cooties is a useful disease.  Thankfully, there is no cure for it.  The Cooties mean boys will be boys and girls will be girls until adolescence, when the Cooties mysteriously disappear.  Social Progressivism has tried to interfere with this “disease,” quite as natural as the chicken pox, insisting on gender neutrality and all sorts of nonsense.

Occasionally, a boy does not get The Cooties and becomes enamored of all things feminine.  The rare girl will forget herself and hang out too long with the boys, in envy of their propensities and their status in the natural order of things.  Sissies and tomboys, they used to be called.

Not anymore.  Now we celebrate their “diversity.”  We accept their abnormality.  In fact, the word has been banned from our vocabulary, supposedly out of compassion for the victims of these tendencies.

Now, there’s no question we should be more merciful, and to a certain degree, more tolerant of their weaknesses.  Cruelty should be banned, especially during childhood.  We all have our weaknesses and the New Testament tells us that we should not judge others; leave it to God.

It’s one thing to tolerate deviance; it’s another to pay homage to it.  Our Constitutional right to freedom of the press means that those who advocate LBGT (Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, and Transgender) may freely publicize Bruce “Caitlyn” Jenner’s transformation from man to woman, celebrate its gender reassignment surgery, and declare that it’s perfectly normal.

Since the transgender population is only 0.5 percent of the U.S. population (thanks to Rush Limbaugh for that statistic!), such a miniscule percentage can hardly be used as grounds to declare that transgenderism is “normal.”

There’s certainly nothing “natural” about it.  The organ of maleness and the female mammary glands are not protruding eyeteeth; that is, they’re not “out of place” or causing a deformity of features or obstructing the physical health in some way, as though they were a third limb.

No law exists that prevents someone from seeking such surgery if they wish to, although at one time it was not only controversial (back in the 1970s) but considered illegal.  Transgender wannabes had to travel to Europe to have surgery performed.  But there should no law, either, against people who seek therapy to return to the gender and sexual preference Nature initially assigned them at birth.

In our earnest desire to be more tolerant of those who are different, our society has crossed a moral line between tolerance, acceptance, and legitimization.  Cruelty and violence should not be tolerated.  But neither should the undermining of our general moral foundation upon which our society was initially based.

Those who deviate from the normal, whether they can help it or not, must accept the consequences of their choice or fate, whichever it may be.  Rush Limbaugh says that “people want to know where the lines are, where the boundaries are.”

You’ll find them in The Bible.  You won’t find them in Buddhism or Hinduism.  They were and are considered “pagan” religions whose bases were in fertility and nature worship.  Judaism and Christianity reached beyond those material, mortal boundaries to find the infinite, the everlasting, and the dependable.  They knew they could not find them in the philosophies of Man.  Islam went too far the other way, condemning those who did not or could not conform to torture and horrible deaths.

Glenn Beck, on his television program, declared that there had to be a middle way between Christianity and Islam.  The “middle way” is not between Islam and Christianity but, rather, between paganism and atheism.  Muslims regard themselves as agents of Allah.  But they are humans, not angelic beings.

They avow that Jesus will appear on the side of the Muslims in the End Times.  Nonsense.  The Muslims, it appears, did not read the story of Jesus and the adulteress about to be stoned.  “Let ye who is without sin cast the first stone,” He told the crowd.

Jesus declared that we should seek God, not turn even further away from Him.  The lesson of Sodom and Gomorrah was recorded for a reason, for our benefit.  As violent as it was, it tells us how God felt about homosexuality and deviancy in general.  The men of Sodom were especially violent homosexuals.  Not all homosexuals are that way (the gay men I’ve known were mostly rather mild, except for one fellow who was incredibly nasty).

Jesus taught us not to cast stones at others.  The Bible also tells us to separate ourselves from those who rebel against God.  In Numbers 16, Korah and the Levites rise up against the priesthood of Moses and Aaron.  They accuse Moses of ambition and power-mongering.  But Moses tells them God chooses whom He will suffer to come near him.  Moses tells them to fill up their censors and meet him before the tabernacle the next day.

God appears and tells everyone to get away from the tents of Korah, so as not to destroy the innocent followers of Moses.

“Separate yourselves from among this congregation, that I many consume them in a moment.”  Numbers 16:21.

Moses tells the people that this calamity is going to happen so they know that he has been sent by God lead them, that he has not chosen himself to be their leader.  Once they’re warned, the earth opens up and swallows the tents of Korah.

Again, the same admonishment is made in Chronicles 2 6:1-18:

“1 Working together with him, we also urge you not to accept the undeserved kindness of God and miss its purpose.   For he says: “In an acceptable time I heard you, and in a day of salvation I helped you.  Look! Now is the especially acceptable time. Look! Now is the day of salvation.  In no way are we giving any cause for stumbling, so that no fault may be found with our ministry;  but in every way we recommend ourselves as God’s ministers, by the endurance of much, by tribulations, by times of need, by difficulties,  by beatings, by imprisonments, by riots, by hard work, by sleepless nights, by times without food;   by purity, by knowledge, by patience,+ by kindness,+ by holy spirit, by love free from hypocrisy,  by truthful speech, by God’s power;+ through the weapons of righteousness+ in the right hand and in the left,  through glory and dishonor, through bad report and good report. We are regarded as deceivers and yet we are truthful,  as unknown and yet we are recognized, as dying and yet look! we live,+ as punished and yet not handed over to death, 10  as sorrowing but ever rejoicing, as poor but making many rich, as having nothing and yet possessing all things. 11  We have opened our mouth to speak to you, Corinthians, and we have opened wide our heart. 12  We are not restricted in our affections for you,  but you are restricted in your own tender affections for us. 13  So in response—I speak as to my children—you too open your hearts wide.

“Do not become unevenly yoked with unbelievers.  For what fellowship do righteousness and lawlessness have?  Or what sharing does light have with darkness?  15  Further, what harmony is there between Christ and Be′li·al [Satan]? Or what does a believer share in common with an unbeliever? 16  And what agreement does God’s temple have with idols?  For we are a temple of a living God;  just as God said: “I will reside among them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they will be my people.” 17  “‘Therefore, get out from among them, and separate yourselves,’ says Jehovah, ‘and quit touching the unclean thing; and I will take you in.’” 18  “‘And I will become a father to you, and you will become sons and daughters to me,’ says Jehovah [God], the Almighty.”

The pagans were hardly the kindly, tolerant, diversity-minded “noble savages” Social Progressives would have us believe.  They practiced human sacrifices, knelt before material idols (things that could rot away), and worshipped the dead.  These same noble savages frequently murdered the early Christian missionaries who came among them to speak the truth of a “living God” and urged them to destroy their pagan idols.  The pagans, in a sense, were “incensed.”

It is not for us to judge those who fail God in faith, deny His existence, or defy His mandates or bring an earthly, horrific judgement upon them, through stoning or what have you.  But neither is it for us to worship them or turn from truth to lies because it makes us feel better about our all-too-human selves and our own shortcomings.  We cannot (and should not, as Americans) prevent a free press from publishing lurid photos of Bruce “Caitlyn” Jenner.  We don’t have to suffer them long, though.

A pair of scissors can serve us just as well as “Caitlyn,” with the politically correct police none the wiser for it.  A delete button can soon be clicked and “Caitlyn” will be out of our sight and minds.

But not out of God’s.

Published in: on June 4, 2015 at 3:08 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://belleofliberty.wordpress.com/2015/06/04/accepting-the-awful-tooth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

